Holiday Volunteer and Giving Guide 2011

This page is now redirected to: http://unitedwayofeastcentraliowa.org/holiday-and-volunteer-giving-guide-2012/

United Way of East Central Iowa’s volunteer program brings people together and improves lives. Our Volunteer and Giving Guide will make it easier for all interested parties to find opportunities that best match their interests. We thank you for making a difference in our community.

Click here to download the print-version of the guide.

Click on your interest:

Donating items to families in need  

Providing elder transport  

Putting together food baskets or serving meals

Donating clothing  

Donating gift cards  

Donating toys

Helping with holiday activities

Other donation and volunteer opportunities

Adopt a Family

Donate food, clothing and toys for a family in need during the holiday.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
The Catherine
McAuley Center
Greg White 319-363-4993 greg@cmc-cr.org
Boys & Girls Clubs
of Cedar Rapids
Ainsley Hogan 319-350-5786 ahogan@bgccr.org
Four Oaks Margie Connors-Boe 319-784-2012 mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org
The Arc of
East Central Iowa
Whitney Alber 319-365-0487
ext 1022
walber@arceci.org
Olivet Neighborhood Mission Jan Thomas, Director 319-364-7946
ext 5
onm.jan@gmail.com
Aid to Women Amy DeLay 319-364-8967 adelay@aidtowomen.com
Horizons, A Family
Service Alliance
Lori Hagg 319-398-3943
ext 2024
lhagg@horizonsfamily.org
HACAP Food
Reservoir
Krista Andersen 319-393-7811 kandersen@hacap.org

Provide Elder Transport

Volunteer your time to provide transportation to elderly clients and/or deliver meals to the homebound.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
St John of the Cross Catholic Worker House Larissa 319-362-9041 stjohncwh@msn.com
Horizons, A Family
Service Alliance
Jessica Link 319-398-3574 jlink@horizonsfamily.org

Volunteer your time putting together food baskets and/or serving meals.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
The Salvation Army Lindsay Hand 319-364-9131 ext 10 Lindsay_Hand@usc.salvationarmy.org
Four Oaks Margie
Connors-Boe
319-398-3574 mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org
Young Parents Network Sara Gerlach 319-364-8908 sgerlach@youngparentsnetwork.org
Foundation 2 Christy Martensen 362-2174 cmartensen@foundation2.org
Aid to Women Amy DeLay 364-8967 adelay@aidtowomen.com
Willis Dady Emergency Shelter Brad Bybee 319-362-7555 vista1@willisdady.org
St John of the Cross Catholic Worker House Larissa 362-9041 stjohncwh@msn.com
Horizons,
A Family Service Alliance
Holly Broderick or Mary Lemke 319-241-4072 or 319-929-3593 hbroderick@horizonsfamily.org or mlemke@horizonsfamily.org
HACAP Food Reservoir Krista Andersen 393-7811 kandersen@hacap.org

Visit the Elderly

Volunteer your time by visiting with an elderly person during the holiday season.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
The Salvation Army Susanne Hoppes 319-364-9131 ext 110 Susanne_Hoppes@usc.salvationarmy.org
St John of the Cross Catholic Worker House Larissa 362-9041 stjohncwh@msn.com

Donate Non-Perishable Food

Donate non-perishable food items.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
The Catherine McAuley Center Brianna Schwenk (319) 363-4993 brianna@cmc-cr.org
Boys & Girls Clubs of Cedar Rapids Ainsley Hogan 319-350-5786 ahogan@bgccr.org
The Salvation Army Candie Edmonds 319-364-9131 ext 109 Candie_Edmonds@usc.salvatonarmy.org
Four Oaks Margie Connors-Boe 319-784-2012 mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org
Foundation 2 Christy Martensen 362-2174 cmartensen@foundation2.org
Olivet Neighborhood Mission Jan Thomas 319-364-7946 x 5 onm.jan@gmail.com
Aid to Women Amy DeLay 364-8967 adelay@aidtowomen.com
Willis Dady Emergency Shelter Brad Bybee 319-362-7555 vista1@willisdady.org
Waypoint Services Ashley Taylor 319-365-1458 ext 118 ashley.taylor@waypointservices.org
St John of the Cross Catholic Worker House Larissa 362-9041 stjohncwh@msn.com
HACAP Food Reservoir Jennifer Schulte 739-0577 jschulte@hacap.org
Benton County Volunteer Program Pat Franzenburg 319-434-6078 bcvp-belleplaine@hotmail.com

Donate new, unused clothing.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
The Catherine McAuley Center Greg White (319) 363-4993 greg@cmc-cr.org
Boys & Girls Clubs of Cedar Rapids Ainsley Hogan 319-350-5786 ahogan@bgccr.org
The Salvation Army Lindsay Hand 319-364-9131 ext 102 Lindsay_Hand@usc.salvationarmy.org
Four Oaks Margie Connors-Boe n/a mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org
Young Parents Network Sara Gerlach 319-364-8909 sgerlach@youngparentsnetwork.org
Foundation 2 Elisabeth Kissling 362-1170 ekissling@foundation2.org
Olivet Neighborhood Mission Jan Thomas 319-364-7946 x 5 onm.jan@gmail.com
Aid to Women Amy DeLay 364-8967 adelay@aidtowomen.com
St John of the Cross Catholic Worker House Larissa 362-9041 stjohncwh@msn.com
Horizons, A Family Service Alliance Lori Hagg 319-398-3943 ext 2024 lhagg@horizonsfamily.org
ASAC’s Adult Residential Treatment Program Kelly Reitzler 319-390-4611 kreitzler@asac.us
Benton County Volunteer Program Pat Franzenburg 319-434-6078 bcvp-belleplaine@hotmail.com

Donate gift cards or gift certificates to be used by those in need.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
The Catherine McAuley Center Amelia Waddle 319-363-4993 amelia@cmc-cr.org
Boys & Girls Clubs of Cedar Rapids Ainsley Hogan 319-350-5786 ahogan@bgccr.org
The Salvation Army Lindsay Hand 319-364-9131 ext 102 Lindsay_Hand@usc.salvationarmy.org
Four Oaks Margie Connors-Boe 319-784-2012 mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org
Foundation 2 Elisabeth Kissling 362-1170 ekissling@foundation2.org
Olivet Neighborhood Mission Jan Thomas 319-364-7946 ext 5 onm.jan@gmail.com
Aid to Women Amy DeLay 364-8967 adelay@aidtowomen.com
ASAC – Heart of Iowa Wanda Mokry-Sellers 319-862-1050, ext 409 wmsellers@asac.us
Willis Dady Emergency Shelter Brad Bybee 319-362-7555 vista1@willisdady.org
Waypoint Services Ashley Taylor n/a ashley.taylor@waypointservices.org
St John of the Cross Catholic Worker House Larissa 362-9041 stjohncwh@msn.com
Horizons, A Family Service Alliance Lori Hagg 319-398-3943 ext 2024 lhagg@horizonsfamily.org
ASAC’s Adult Residential Treatment Program Kelly Reitzler 319-390-4611 kreitzler@asac.us
Benton County Volunteer Program Pat Franzenburg 319-434-6078 bcvp-belleplaine@hotmail.com

Donate new, unwrapped toys.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
The Catherine McAuley Center Greg White (319) 363-4993 greg@cmc-cr.org
Boys & Girls Clubs of Cedar Rapids Ainsley Hogan 319-350-5786 ahogan@bgccr.org
The Salvation Army Lindsay Hand 319-364-9131 ext 102 Lindsay_Hand@usc.salvationarmy.org
Four Oaks Margie Connors-Boe 319-784-2012 mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org
Young Parents Network Sara Gerlach 319-364-8909 sgerlach@youngparentsnetwork.org
Foundation 2 Elisabeth Kissling 362-1170 ekissling@foundation2.org
Olivet Neighborhood Mission Jan Thomas 319-364-7946 x 5 onm.jan@gmail.com
Aid to Women Amy DeLay 364-8967 adelay@aidtowomen.com
ASAC – Heart of Iowa Wanda Mokry-Sellers 319-862-1050 ext 409 wmsellers@asac.us
Waypoint Services Ashley Taylor n/a ashley.taylor@waypointservices.org
Horizons, A Family Service Alliance Lori Hagg 19-398-3943 ext 2024 lhagg@horizonsfamily.org
Benton County Volunteer Program Pat Franzenburg 319-434-6078 bcvp-belleplaine@hotmail.com

Volunteer your time to help with holiday parties, special activities, wrapping gifts and more.

Organization Contact Name Phone Email
Cedar Rapids Downtown District Jill Wilkins 319-398-0449 jill@downtowncr.org
Four Oaks Margie Connors-Boe n/a mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org
Young Parents Network Sara Gerlach 319-364-8909 sgerlach@youngparentsnetwork.org
The Arc of East Central Iowa
Wrapping for a Cause:
Kyle Schramp
Holiday Party: Jody Bridgewater
319-365-0487 ext 1021
319-365-0487 ext 1045
kschramp@arceci.org
jbridgewater@arceci.org
Aid to Women Amy DeLay 364-8967 adelay@aidtowomen.com
ASAC –
Heart of Iowa
Wanda Mokry-Sellers 319-862-1050, ext. 409 msellers@asac.us
Waypoint Services Ashley Taylor  319-365-1458 ext 118 ashley.taylor@waypointservices.org
St John of the Cross Catholic Worker House Larissa 362-9041 stjohncwh@msn.com

Other donation and volunteer opportunities.

Organization Contact Name Contact Info Description
The Catherine McAuley Center Jennifer Tibbetts (319) 363-4993
jennifer@cmc-cr.org
The Salvation Army Amy Stano 319-364-9131 ext 100 Amy_Stano@usc.salvationarmy.org Adopt a Grandparent Similar to Adopt A Family
Four Oaks Margie Connors-Boe mconnors-boe@fouroaks.org Sorting gifts donated for our clients
Young Parents Network Sarah Gerlach sgerlach@youngparentsnetwork.org We could use help with donation of meal items for 2 holiday meals for participants (example-turkeys and hams).
Willis Dady Emergency Shelter Brad Bybee 319-362-7555
vista1@willisdady.org
We are in need of volunteers willing to stay at the shelter overnight during the holiday season.
Waypoint Services Ashley Taylor ashley.taylor@waypointservices.org Personal shoppers and gift sorting for the Waypoint Wonderland Gift Gala
Indian Creek Nature Center Jan Aiels 319-362-0664 Nature’s Noel, a fund raising holiday craft and greens sale, benefits Indian Creek Nature Center. The Nature Center needs volunteers to assist with all aspects of the Nature’s Noel event on Sat. Dec. 3.
Science Station Norah Hammond 319-363-4629 norah@sciencestation.org Miscellaneous printing, classroom and cleaning supplies.
Horizons, A Family Service Alliance Jessica Link 319-398-3574 jlink@horizonsfamily.org Santa for Seniors – Meals On Wheels clients submit holiday wishes on cards that can be picked up at Horizons for gift giving.
ASAC’s Adult Residential Treatment Program Kelly Reitzler 319-390-4611
kreitzler@asac.us
Toiletries, blankets, socks

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

GIVE1 ADVOCATE3 VOLUNTEER1

facebook icon Twitter Icon pinterest_icon_red  LinkedIn logo Youtube logo