The Salvation Army Continues Celebrating 125 Years in Cedar Rapids with Exhibit at History Center

Over the past 125 years The Salvation Army has played an active role of the Cedar Rapids community. As a part of a year-round celebration an exhibit is now open at the Carl & Mary Koehler History Center, 615 First Ave SE, Cedar Rapids, showcasing the history of The Salvation Army both locally and around the world.

In March of 1888 the first Salvation Army opened its doors in Cedar Rapids at 71 Seventh Ave. Over the years the building and Officers have changed numerous times, but the mission has remained the same. In this exhibit there is a letter that was sent to Lieutenant Josie Chapman who was serving in Cedar Rapids in 1915. She was the grandmother of our current Officer Major Paul Logan. There is also a large coin that was donated by a local resident who found it in his father’s attic. The coin itself was a special issue coin on the commemoration of The Salvation Army’s 100th Anniversary Centennial Celebration and was given to those who supported the mission and ministry of The Salvation Army.

– By The Salvation Army

Posted in The Salvation Army, United Way of East Central Iowa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


facebook icon Twitter Icon pinterest_icon_red  LinkedIn logo Youtube logo

© 2013-2015 United Way of East Central Iowa